American Atheist- Inaugural Speech

George Washington was the first President inaugurated in the United States of America, John F. Kennedy was the first Catholic ever elected President, and Barack Obama was the first African American to be sworn in. And now, for the first time in American history, the citizens of this amazing country will have the opportunity to take part in an event that will turn the page on our archaic belief structure by electing the first ATHEIST President of the United States of America.

Am I an Atheist? Yes. But we are all many things. I am a man, a husband, a father, an American, but most importantly I am an independent-minded human being. I want to bring something to this great nation that it has never been exposed to: A leader with the most unbiased approach to government. I will be a President who works for you, the people, and NOT for God or the Bible. If you are looking for someone to claim that we are not responsible for our decisions because God has the ultimate choice, I am not the candidate for you. However, if you are looking for a man with an open mind, leadership experience, accountability, and the ability to make decisions with the American people as my main priority, then I am most definitely the leader who is ready to bring this country into a new age of reason, logic, and common sense. Religion has too long been used as both a weapon and a crutch; it has been used as a weapon to justify and encourage acts of incredible violence and injustices and as a crutch to comfort the public with a “God is on our side” mentality. I am not going to deceive the public or pander to the religious majority, but instead I intend to stand strong with my beliefs and support the issues that I know are for a better America. Being religious is NOT a prerequisite for running for office, and I intend to prove to the people of the United States that it is not a prerequisite for being a decent human being and a great leader. I know who I work for, and my beliefs allow me to have the most independent approach to leadership. I will not let my morality by swayed by figures of the past, by a book written by Bronze Age men, or by faith; instead, I will act with superior judgment by reviewing what facts lay before us and then I will act in the best interest of the citizens of the United States of America. Acting on behalf of this great nation is not an easy task, and in order to do so effectively, I believe that one must be free of the constraints that religion has placed on men in the past. I am a man of the issues, and a man of judgment; I am the right man to take this country in a positive direction.

I don’t believe that GOD wanted almost three-thousand American lives extinguished in the World Trade Center tragedy, or that a higher power wanted the crusades, hurricane Katrina, the destruction of the Native American civilizations, and I don’t think God would have let human slavery take place from the beginning of humanity. We need to take responsibility for our planet, our government, our decisions shape the earth; we need to make sure we have the judgment to make the fair and intelligent choice. Some of the most heinous and violent crimes committed in humanity’s history have been perpetrated in the name of one god or another, I believe that it is finally time to make the right decisions solely because it is the right thing to do and NOT because it favors a particular religion’s world view. According to the Constitution of the United States, we have a freedom of religion that allows me to choose my faith without discrimination or limitations. Our Constitution demonstrates the separation between faith and government that in my lifetime has not been a realization, but I intend to bring that separation to government as our framers had intended.

My administration will encourage freedom of religion, freedom of speech, freedom of press; these are the things that were important in the creation of the United States, and they are the things that are important to me. I want to spawn new scientific research, I want to stimulate our education system; these are the concepts that will bring America back to the top as a world power. Countries of Europe and Asia are surpassing our nation in education, allowing them to create new technology and new jobs, cleaner environments, and we need to reestablish our nation in these areas. We will TRULY bring an end to partisanship in Washington. I will work with people regardless of class, faith, color, creed, religion, or lack of religion. I want the world to know that if you know you are right, there is no harm in debate, and if you find that YOU are wrong, there is no harm in correcting your mistakes. Government is based on the principles of diplomacy, but our government has been anything but diplomatic with other nations, cultures, and with people of different ideas. Even within itself, our government has been too stubborn to work within itself to bring not just change, but progress.

9 responses to “American Atheist- Inaugural Speech

  1. Awesome…!

  2. Well done!! It reads like a real speech!! I hope, in my lifetime, that I will get to hear a president-elect utter these words…for real!

  3. Great, To bad this guy would never get elected, and would probabably get shot by a right wing religious nut doing “the lords work.”

  4. Seeing Barack Obama come from seemingly out of nowhere to become our first Black president was something I never expected to happen in my lifetime. Seeing Barack Obama come from seemingly out of nowhere to become our first Black president was something I never expected to happen in my lifetime. Yet here we are and I have not stopped pinching myself. I guess what I am saying is that we should never let the naysayers influence us to much. Everything is possible. Our British cousins have a cabinet that consists of 50% out and proud atheists. One of them Foreign Secretary David Miliband, is rumored to become the first atheist PM. If that happens, his election campaign will make fascinating reading on both sides of the Atlantic.

  5. Hummm,
    I don’t know why my first sentence got duplicated. Twas not intentional.

  6. Are u anti-Christ?

  7. No- Since there is no “Christ”, there can also be no “Anti-Christ.”

  8. Very well written, I must say. I believe that it is a simple fact that religious discrimination must die in order for human beings to live. Having an atheist president would make me incredibly proud to profess that I am an America. I believe that having an atheist president would be a step in the right direction towards promoting individualistic thinking and rationality, as well as reducing discrimination in the world. Being an atheist myself, naturally I believe that a world without religion, filled with other atheists or even agnostic individuals, would practically be a utopia. However, I am a rationalist and I know that this would be an impossibility due to man’s reject of common sense. While diminishing religion is not possible, it is possible to diminish some of the “side effects” of religion, so to speak, and though an atheist president that would be slowly, but surely, be possible.

  9. To Michael Boyer,
    Why must you be such a separatist? Why do people like you continue to spread negativity about any such group such as you did? Why would you even suggest that it would be someone from the right pulling a trigger? The fact that many conservatives own guns is not to harm others, but to protect themselves. Shame on you for spreading falsities about an American’s right to bear arms. Obviously, you surround yourself with hateful people on the left. This is the problem in this country – the constant mudslinging and elimination of any unbiased, rational thought. Take off your funnel glasses and you will see the light.

Leave a Reply

