Ode to Reality

We walked on the moon, minds cannot bend spoons;
No one can foretell whether or not the end will come soon.
Psychics can’t read minds and crop circles aren’t signs;
You can’t tell a person’s future by looking at their hand or its lines.
Gods don’t talk to men or otherwise intervene;
And no one can tell the future, not even in dreams.
Crystals don’t heal and Big Foot isn’t real;
Prayer doesn’t affect outcomes, regardless of how it makes you feel.
Personality types aren’t determined by month of birth;
And aliens, if they exist, have likely never visited earth.
The real world is beautiful, there’s no need for more;
Don’t cling to conspiracies or religion or folklore.

9 responses to “Ode to Reality

  1. I find the essence of what is literally being said here, too closely resembles the same close-mindedness of a theist. To deny the existence of something that is still a mystery, is to close a door on learning. To say that Bigfoot doesn’t exist simply because there is no proof would be the same as Bigfoot does exist because I believe he does. To say that he may exist but I have no proof either way, acknowledges that there is always more to learn, more knowledge to pursue. When you say something ceases to be until it has proof, why do we seek any answers at all? There is no questioning, because there is no proof to lead to the question. While parts of this poem acknowledge this tent

    This was the challenge of thought, I presented on the Atheist Facebook page associated with David, and was greeted with defensiveness and a failure to see any point to why I would post this sentiment. There were requests for silencing of opinions. And at no point were any of my points acknowledged as having some feasibility. I have a feeling David would have posed a better argument or simply acknowledged my point, but I feel he’s being poorly represented by others on that page.

    • Hi “John”

      I appreciate your sentiment. In fact, I never claim certainty in any area, if any of the above were proven to be true, I’d accept it without question, and then continue my search to learn more about it.

      In the poem, I had to cut away some of the language that would show you my core agnosticism (I couldn’t have added “there’s no evidence to suggest…” in front of every line and have it remain an effective poem. I merely stated what is currently held as true by the scientific and evidence-searching community, which is subject to change upon review of further evidence. Hope that clears up my intentions!

    • Mr “John Doe”,
      Thank you for this comment (and thank you David for your response). I have been debating this fact amongst my Theist and Atheist friends in college and none seem to take it as “meaningful”. It’s awesome to see my thoughts validated by another individual when concerning a subject, that I think, is very interesting and entertaining to debate.

  2. I disagree with Mr Doe. “Bigfoot” has been searched for
    long enough without a single non bogus clue ever having been found.
    Ditto the Loch Ness Monster. It is safe to conclude that neither
    exist. Everyone today walks around with a camera that also takes
    pictures and more often than not these days, video. One of these 2
    supposed creatures would have been captured digitally by now. The
    degree of certainly they don’t exist must be close to 99%… close
    enough to say “don’t” in a poem. A creator god has had plenty of
    time to make himself/herself known if he/she existed… confused
    and contradictory books like bibles and korans would not be the way
    a divine omniscient being would choose to reveal him/herself I
    would think. If there did turn out to be a god I’d have hoped
    he/she had been a better communicator. ;^)

  3. Aw, this was a very nice post. Spending some time and actual effort to
    produce a really good article… but what can I say… I hesitate a
    lot and don’t seem to get nearly anything done.

  4. First of all I want to say wonderful blog!

    I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing. I’ve
    had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out there.
    I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15
    minutes are lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any ideas or hints? Kudos!

Leave a Reply

